Skip to main content

The National Quality Standard (NQS) is designed to help children’s services provide the best possible level of childhood education and care by outlining the factors that best support a child’s development.  It outlines what a service can do to provide the highest quality education and care for a child.

The National Quality Standard is divided into seven areas. These areas outline the guidelines necessary to follow to ensure the safety, health and well being of children attending education and care services, as well as improving their educational and developmental outcomes.

The Quality Areas are:

  1. Education Program and Practice.
  2. Children’s Health and Safety.
  3. Physical Environment.
  4. Staffing Arrangements.
  5. Relationships with Children.
  6. Collaborative Partnerships with Families and Communities.
  7. Leadership and Service Management.

From 1st January 2012, most long day care & outside school hours care services are rated against the 7 NQS areas. Services are given a rating for each of the 7 quality areas and an overall rating based on these results: Working Towards National Quality Standard, Meeting National Quality Standard, Exceeding National Quality Standard.

As a long day care we were assessed in September 2018 and proudly can share our results as Exceeding the National Quality Standards.

We are extremely proud of our rating Exceeding as we ensure at all times our educators standards are high and we are providing your children with the quality care necessary for their health, safety and wellbeing and shape their formative years.

Kindergarted Approved